Freezer Breakfast Sandwich

Who here has a life? …right, I didn’t think anyone would actually respond and willingly tell the truth. (The truth is no, no one does.) But who here likes easy, ready to go, good for you breakfast? Yes, I thought that might resonate a little with some of you.

I personally LOVE Egg McMuffins. I personally dislike McDonald’s. Unfortunately, and as the blogger I had pinned this from points out, Jimmy Dean and many of the other frozen pre-made breakfast sandwich makers seem to have a lot of things in their sandwiches that are not exactly what I would deem natural (soy flour egg patty, anyone?). Although Pinned Foodie may not follow any particular diet, natural foods are always the way to eliminate questions of what’s in your pre-prepared whatever you’re eating. Never forget the Kraft mac and cheese metal scandal.

Author: Jess Fuel at Flying On Jess Fuel posted on May 8th, 2013

6 large eggs
Salt and pepper to taste
6 English muffins
6 slices sharp cheddar cheese
18 small slices deli ham
Plastic wrap

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Spray a jumbo muffin tin or small ramekins with nonstick spray. Crack one egg into each ramekin. Use a sharp knife to gently pierce each yolk.
  3. Bake the eggs 10-15 minutes, until set. Slide eggs out of the ramekins and cool slightly. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, if desired.
  4. Slice the English muffins. Layer one slice of cheese on each English muffin, then 3 slices of ham.
  5. Finally, layer on the egg and top off the English muffin.
  6. Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze.
  7. To reheat, remove the sandwiches from the plastic wrap and wrap in a paper towel. Microwave for 1 minute on 50 percent power. Flip sandwich over and microwave for 1 more minute on regular power.

Best and fast make ahead meal! Anyone can do this, and anyone can do this the Sunday before work starts, even if you have no life. As you can see, it makes six little sandwiches, which means you can even have one for Saturday morning!

Step 1

I do not own ramekins, so I used the muffin tin. I’ll tell you right off: RECIPE SUGGESTION 1: DON’T USE A MUFFIN TIN. After I pierce the yolk and cook the egg, let me tell you why:

Step 3

Isn’t it cute? AND TINY?! Bleh. I’m considering buying ramekins for this recipe alone. I was hoping for a flat, perfect English muffin sized egg patty. Oh, and for those of us who may be needing a low cholesterol breakfast option? RECIPE SUGGESTION 2: GO AHEAD AND USE EGG WHITES IF YOU LIKE! BUT DON’T USE A MUFFIN TIN…..

Step 5

My cheese slices were a lot bigger than the muffin, which actually led to a problem after I heated my first sandwich up. Did you know cheese melts? Yes! Cheese melts, and when it’s put in a paper towel wrap in the microwave, it melts all over the paper towel! Oh, well, silly me. RECIPE SUGGESTION 3: CUT THE EDGES OF THE CHEESE SLICE HANGING OFF THE ENGLISH MUFFIN. EITHER CONSUME IMMEDIATELY TO QUENCH YOUR CHEESE ADDICTION WHICH I KNOW IS FLARING UP RIGHT NOW. OR PLACE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SANDWICH. 

When it comes to the deli ham, it does get a little tricky when trying to stay natural. There are a lot of lunch meats lurking around with unpronounceable ingredients in them. Can’t the main ingredient just be pig? Your best and even more delicious bet than the pre-made deli meats in the refrigerated section is to go to your grocery deli and ask them to cut slices from their deli meats made in house. RECIPE SUGGESTION 4: CHOOSE AN IN-STORE MADE DELI HAM FROM YOUR GROCERY.

Step 6

As you can see, the egg patty is much smaller and rounder than desired. Nevertheless, I topped my sandwich off and wrapped it in my plastic wrap as tight as possible.

Final Product

I have tried the sandwich two ways: defrosted and not heated; and re-heated straight from the freezer. I wouldn’t recommend the defrosting with no re-heat. My stomach is sensitive in the morning, and for some reason, the unheated, defrosted version had my stomach tossing and turning for all the morning. However, the re-heated version was delicious…until I got to the middle where the egg patty was still slightly frozen. RECIPE SUGGESTION 5: REHEAT ONE MINUTE AT 100 PERCENT POWER. TURN OVER AND REHEAT ANOTHER MINUTE AT 100 PERCENT POWER. OR HEAT BACK UP IN THE TOASTER OVEN/REGULAR OVEN. I’m not sure if this happened because my egg patty wasn’t…well, a patty. More like a hockey puck. Guess I’ll have to buy a few ramekins! The English muffin itself was a little soggy as I had feared. Honestly, though, I’d rather have a soggy English muffin than a whole bunch of “ingredients” in my body I cannot pronounce.

FINAL SUGGESTIONS BY A FOODIE
Suggestion 1: Use ramekins, not a muffin tin.
Suggestion 2: Egg whites are a lower cholesterol alternative. You can easily make your own by cracking the egg and draining the whites by tossing the yolk in between the two shells.
Suggestion 3: Heat at a higher power if using a microwave.
Suggestion 4: Try with Canadian bacon!

What worked in this recipe: Great make ahead; Healthier version of a breakfast sandwich; Good to make for visiting family and friends (already thinking about holiday season)
What didn’t work in this recipe: The suggested re-heat wattage for my microwave
Will I go back for seconds?: Yes, especially when the holidays start

I don’t have a revised recipe, because there is really nothing that needed a huge change! Just little tweaks here and there, and you’ll have a great on the go breakfast that isn’t a granola bar!

Leave a Reply

